Quotes to Write By – Day 7

I remember when I was in middle school and wrote every single day without fail. I had a green spiral notebook covered in doodles and stickers. I filled the pages with poems, titles to stories or chapter titles to story ideas. I poured my heart and soul onto those pages, often spilling dark secrets I wouldn’t even tell my closest friend. Once that notebook filled, I bought another one and continued the process.

emo-phase

We make brooding look elegant.

Ironically, even though I was a preteen middle school student brimming with raging hormones and pressured to fit in with my peers, I sometimes think I was more bold back then. Those obstacles didn’t stop me from writing, but instead often encouraged me to write more.

Over twenty years later, my intent is to write every day. However, that doesn’t always happen and then guilt sets in or fear that what I write won’t matter because it’s not this or it’s not that.

Today’s quote comes from versatile writer, Jane Yolen.

janeyolen

Jane Yolen

This “Quotes to Write By” series is helping me to stay focused and committed to writing even when I really don’t want to. I hope it helps even one other writer too.

Quote #7

“Exercise the writing muscle every day, even if it is only a letter, notes, a title list, a character sketch, a journal entry. Writers are like dancers, like athletes. Without that exercise, the muscles seize up.”

Jane Yolen

ballerina

 

Leave a Reply

