Quotes to Write By – Day 6

writing-and-depression

So much is going on. I feel like no matter how much I plan and prioritize my life that I’m getting nowhere.

I have a deadline for a short story that I want to submit to a magazine and a picture book (I’ve only written one of these) for a contest.

Unfortunately, the words come, but I don’t think the story’s endings are good enough. I have a decent beginning and middle, but the ending? Oh dear.

Usually, I’m pretty good at writing the endings to my stories. I have often had the ending thoroughly planned out, but this time, I’m not sure what to do!

By the time I get home from teaching full-time, I have other responsibilities. Feeding my three kiddos and having dinner ready for my husband. By the time I’ve invested hours playing with my two toddlers, hanging out with my teenage son, and chatting with my husband, I’m exhausted and feel like a failure. 😦

When words fail me, I could:

  1. Blame it on writer’s block.
  2. Sink into despair and depression.
  3. Eat cookies and chips and participate in guilt-inducing Netflix binging.
  4. Replay Dragon Age Origins as a human noble and seduce Alistair, bastard prince, into making me Queen.

In all fairness and honesty, I’m 100% certain that I’m not the only author in the entire world who has done at least 1, 2, 3, or 4 at some point in their writing career.

Anyone? Anyone else? Oh, okay . . .

Instead, I need to think about what I have already accomplished and move on from there. 🙂

Please share in any social media format you prefer and/or reblog. Thank you! 🙂

Quote #6

“Don’t fear making a mistake; fear failing to learn and move forward.”

Philip Humbert

Leave a Reply

