Quotes to Write By

The end of the school year is almost here and my middle school students are becoming . . . unhinged. Heh.

Oh, the talking. And the forgetting. And the out-of-the-seat moments.

Out of Seats

Me: But you’re writing the first draft of your essay. Do you really need to walk around?

So, this week to keep learning at maximum levels students must complete a four paragraph essay on two people’s reactions to the assassination of Abraham Lincoln. Students have the option to choose from any of the important people we learned about in our Read 180 Workshop: Walt Whitman, Elizabeth Keckley, et cetera, ad nauseum. Blah, blah, blah. For the most part, students are doing well!

Abraham-Lincoln-Vampire-Hunter

No, not this one! The historically accurate one! Sheesh.

I too was feeling a little stressed. Okay, forget the “hedge word” little. I was totally feeling stressed out! So much to do and so little time! I had such goals and it’s funny how plans don’t follow directions and fall in line.

I have struggled with staying focused and keeping myself writing daily. In between writing sporadically, I’ve been reading other authors’ books, hosting a Literacy Night at the middle school where I teach, grading papers, and on and on it goes.

I hope someday I will build a readership that enjoy the worlds I’ve crafted and the characters I’ve created so that way I can fulfill my dream and write full-time. I tell myself it’s a ridiculous dream, but for once, I suppose I owe it to myself to be optimistic.

Even a little.

Anyway, I was cleaning out my classroom cabinets and found a plethora of items from over a decade ago! One of the items was a stapled packet of writing quotes I used to write on the board to motivate students when I taught second grade.

So, for the next 60 or more days, I’m going to use each of these quotes to motivate myself to write!

I hope this writing exercise will help other writers too. 🙂

Quote #1

“You can take for granted that people know more or less what a street, a shop, a beach, a sky, an oak tree look like. Tell them what makes this one different.”

Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

