Building Your World With Maps

Hallelujah! I had created a map of the world of Reath, for my “Prelude to Morning” dystopian-science-fiction hybrid (lol) and I think I need to redraw it on a bigger scale like this awesome author did! So inspiring. Thank you, Burks! Thank you!

E. Paige Burks

Maps are hard. Especially for people like me who have trouble visualizing what the heck even goes on a map. My most basic map of Gexalatia, from years ago looks like this:

Created with Microsoft Fresh Paint

Awesome, right? (It’s okay to say no!)

Gexalatia has come a long way since its early days. Now it looks slightly better, like this:

img_4395

Definitely starting to be flushed out a bit.

So what should your map have on it?

1. The easiest place to start was the countries.

So the overall land/continent is called Gexalatia. So far Gexalatia consists of Ymber to the north and Siccita to the south. Once I decided that, building around the two countries wasn’t too difficult.

2. Every country obviously needs a capitol city!

For me, the capitol cities are Regius Carmen in Ymber and Celo Cavus in Siccita. I chose to put them at opposite ends of the map for no…

View original post 578 more words

Leave a Reply

