#BlackLivesMatter

This thoughtful post is almost a year old and still highly relevant.

L.S. Engler

I usually don’t like to get too political on my blog. The current state of things is such a confusing mess that even I’m not sure what my thoughts are, and there are things like our current racial division in the U.S. that makes me feel upset, confused, and generally voiceless. I’m a white girl who grew up in rural Michigan, so it sometimes feels like I just don’t have a good perspective on things. On the other hand, I live just outside of Chicago, where the murder rate from gun violence is just absolutely staggering. I have family members who work in law enforcement, so the attacks on police grip my heart with a very personal kind of terror, while the reports of young black people being straight-up murdered just for being young and black is heartbreaking. It’s all so awful that I’m often just stunned into complete silence…

View original post 375 more words

Leave a Reply

